What is that weird thing staring down at me?

24 Jun

I’ve just added a picture to my blog. This is a picture I took when I was stranded in Thailand due to the volcanic ash! I absolutely love the statue, there are so many ways to interpret it, and that leads to my next point……..Creative Writing.

I think using a visual a stimulus or a short youtube clip is a really fab way to get pupils engaged in writing. It’s something that parents can easily do at home with their children. Kids need to write, they need to sometimes write purely for pleasure and see where their ideas can take them! I’ve added some images that can take writing in all sorts of directions! Creativity is key!

Imagine you're stuck in this traffic!

Describe this scene.

2 Responses to “What is that weird thing staring down at me?”

  1. rachel June 27, 2010 at 3:57 pm #

    Hi jensmile,

    Your blog seems to be off to a good start, but…

    …Oops! I found four errors (typos/grammar/punctuation; one being the dreaded your/you’re slipup) in this post, and, as a writer/author, that’s a bit disappointing. We all need to check our work, especially when we’re in a position to mentor/model for young people or those who are not native English speakers.

    * praying I didn’t make any errors in this Comment!* (:

    • jensmile June 27, 2010 at 6:19 pm #

      Hi Rachel, thanks for the reply! I did this on my Ipod and spotted some errors that I meant to go back and correct but I forgot! I must be more careful, especially now people are actually starting to read it! Cheers and good luck with your blog!

Leave a Reply

